Fakel Gazprom Orenburg is 2016-2017 ETTU Table Tennis Champions League Winner (VIDEO)


ETTU Table Tennis Champions League Men logo


The second leg final of the Table Tennis Champions League, the European Table Tennis Union sanctioned competition, was held today in Orenburg, Russia. TTC Fakel Gazprom line-up that includes Mizutani, Ovtcharov and Samsonov was favorite even before the first leg. And after 0-3 in the first leg on May 7 in Dusseldorf, they have done most of the work, so miracle was Borussia’s only hope in Russia.

However, Dimitrij Ovtcharov killed all Borussia’s hopes and secured fourth Champions League title for Fakel Gazprom Orenburg after 3:1 victory in the very first match today against Kristian Karlsson. Still, Borussia’s team didn’t give up even after Mizutani accomplished convincing 3:0 victory against Timo Boll. Anton Källberg surprised and outperformed living table tennis legend Vladimir Samsonov (2:3). Thereafter Stefan Fegerl defeated Alexey Smirnov (2:3) and tied (Fakel Gazprom – Borussia Dusseldorf 2-2). In the final match of the ETTU Champions League 2nd leg final, Mizutani beat Karlsson in three straight games. That makes final result: Fakel Gazprom – Borussia Dusseldorf 3-2, or 6-2 on aggregate.

TTC Fakel Gazprom Orenburg won their 4th ETTU TTCL Men title. Last time they were ETTU Table Tennis Champions League winners in season 2014/2015. In that year Borussia Duesseldorf was also a runner-up. Therefore this year’s Champions League final was a kind of reply. On the other hand, Borussia Duesseldorf is waiting for the Champions League title since the season 2010/2011, when Gazprom Orenburg was a runner-up. Their rivalry goes on.

Borussia Duesseldorf and TTC Fakel Gazprom Orenburg are now tied with four ETTU Champions League titles each. Royal Villette Charleroi is still holding the most TTCL titles – five.


Streaming at ETTU TTCL official partner Laola1.tv is available both live:



and on demand:



and through European Table Tennis Union Facebook page:



Full 2016/2017 ETTU Table Tennis Champions League 2nd leg Final schedule and results:


TTC Fakel Gazprom Orenburg – Borussia Duesseldorf 3:2 (2nd Leg)


Dimitrij Ovtcharov – Kristian Karlsson 3:1 (11:9, 9:11, 11:8, 12:10)

Jun Mizutani – Timo Boll 3:0 (11:7, 11:5, 11:8)

Vladimir Samsonov – Anton Källberg 2:3 (11:6, 8:11, 11:2, 4:11, 12:14)

Alexey Smirnov – Stefan Fegerl 2:3 (10:12, 11:5, 8:11, 11:7, 9:11)

Jun Mizutani – Kristian Karlsson 3:0 (11:7, 11:9, 11:5)


Match of the TTCL 2nd leg final, Ovtcharov vs Karlsson:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *